We managed to hold on to a year of COBRA although it was $10.00 a month more than he was getting in unemployment compensation. You might want to read that sentence again. We paid the ten bucks out of his severance. Then, no more insurance until Obamacare.
What happened with these lovely doctors, most of whom had treated me for 10 years or more and some of whom I was friends with from when I worked in the medical field?
Well, the testa all showed I was diabetic and not one of them said a word because they knew without insurance I could not afford treatment or medication. Over 2 yeara later when Obamacare came in and I got insurance the first thing a doctor did was put me in the hospital for diabetes. They didn't know why I was still alive and even more, how I drove to the hospital in that condition. A couple of days later the insurance company demanded I be released because they weren't going to pay. Seems my Obama policy didn't cover dying from diabetes as a reason for hospitalization. None of the policies actually covered much of anything so I was anxious to finally qualify for Medicare which I have discovered covers even less.
In about 5 years when I manage to pay off the last hospitalization, I should be allowed to go to the emergency room to die. Until then, it would be a good idea to not try and get any care at any hospital since they are all linked together via computer. Doctors, it seems are unable to actually do anything for you that requires getting up and administering treatment. Why should they? My squirrel gets more peanuts than they do just for looking cute.
And that is the real state of medical care in this country. If you are rich and I do mean rich, you get it. If you are in the other 98%, you die. Unfortunately I don't see Medicare for All actually fixing it simply because of the above paragraph. Medicare is the very least medical care you can get and it is all you get.
Right now I am in the same position I was with insurance my entire life. I can't afford the deductible and co-pays to go to the doctor with Medicare. I sure as hell can't afford the basic 2,400.00 a day in the hospital costs due to the Medicare Gap. I can't afford supplemental insurance. The actual cost of it shocked an insurance agent!
That's really the rub as the Bard would say. When you hear that Congress has the same policies you do, you feel kind of equal but on their salary and expense account, they can afford the deductible, co-pays and drug costs you can't/ They can afford to use the policy. You can't.
Now those that opted for the cheap really high deductible policies don't ever notice they come with payout limits. Once accident and they are bankrupt but here is what you don't know. Bush, Jr. revamped the bankruptcy laws and you aren't going to be able to file for bankruptcy. You will be homeless, carless and on the streets WITH THE BILLS FOLLOWING YOU. If you have a phone you will be hounded daily. If you try to rent, you won't be approved. Apply for a job and most places do a credit check. You won't get a job.
That is the state of medical care in this glorious somewhere around 4th world country.
Just remember, if you can't fit it in a paid for car and also afford the insurance for said vehicle, you are one misstep away from losing it, one hospital bill away.

No comments:
Post a Comment